HISTORY OF RUCKER-STEWART MIDDLE SCHOOL
Rucker-Stewart can trace its history all the way back to the year 1950. The original school, Union High School was completed in that year. The school colors of maroon and silver date back to Union High. It was the first Sumner County school established for the education of African-Americans.
In 1970, the school changed from a high school to Union Seventh, with Harvey Foster serving as principal. Two years later, Tom Bruce became principal, serving for five years. During this time, the sixth grade was moved from Guild School, and the name of the school was changed to Union Sixth. Andrew Turner was appointed principal in 1977, and in 1978 the school was renamed Rucker-Stewart. The name change honored two distinguished African-American educators, Dr. J. N. Rucker and Reverend R. A. Stewart.
In 1994, a groundbreaking ceremony was held to begin construction on our current building. Among those present were the widows of Dr. Rucker and Reverend Stewart. In August of 1995, the new Rucker-Stewart Middle School opened for sixth, seventh, and eighth grade students, beginning a new era in our rich history.
Along with being an educational site, Rucker-Stewart has been widely used in other capacities benefiting the local community. Church groups have met at Rucker-Stewart while establishing their own buildings. Many groups have utilized the gymnasium as the site for youth league games and practices. Every year the school is the destination of the Unity Day march and assembly held in conjunction with the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday. As Gallatin continues to grow and prosper, Rucker-Stewart Middle School will strive to remain a vital and beloved asset for citizens and families.